Providing VIP Corporate Hospitality Packages at all Sporting & Cultural Events

Email: Follow us:

Call our dedicated sales team now

01543 250239

ICC 2015 World Cup pools revealed

The pools for the ICC 2015 World Cup have been decided and there will be an Ashes clash in pool A, as England and Australia have been paired in the same group. Alongside England and Australia in Pool A is Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, New Zealand and 2 more national teams who have to quality. There are three qualifying spaces remaining in the whole of the ICC 2015 World Cup after Ireland qualified; there are currently 2 spaces to be filled in Pool A whilst there is only one space remaining in Pool B. The nations in Pool B include the defending Champions India, South Africa, Pakistan, West Indies, Zimbabwe, Ireland and one qualifier.

The Ashes fixture will return to Australia on the opening day of the ICC 2015 World Cup as England travel to Melbourne on Valentine’s Day to take on the Aussies. The hosts of the ICC 2015 World Cup are being shared between Australia and New Zealand and that is the reason they both play on the opening day of the tournament. When Australia will be taking on England in Melbourne, New Zealand will be trying to defeat Sri Lanka in Christchurch on the same day. The Final is on 29th March 2015 and will be held in Melbourne, Australia.

Australia and New Zealand co-host ICC 2015 World Cup

After England have opened the day against Australia, they will travel to Wellington to play New Zealand six days later, before they travel to Christchurch to play a qualifier. After that match, England will return to Wellington to take on Sri Lanka on 1st March and then they will travel to Adelaide to play Bangladesh. Their final match before the quarter-finals is against another qualifier in Sydney and on the same day, New Zealand host Bangladesh. The top 4 teams from each Pool then advance into the ICC 2015 World Cup quarter-finals, which begins on 18th March in Sydney.

The current holder of the ICC World Cup is India as they won it 2011 and stole the title from Australia’s grasp, who had won it 3 consecutive time before. Out of the 10 Cricket World Cups, Australia are the most successful winning it on 4 different occasions followed by India and the West Indies, who have won it twice each. The other winners were Pakistan and Sri Lanka who have won it only once each. However, England are yet to win the Cricket World Cup finishing as the runners-up on 3 separate occasions, so they will be looking for a victory in the next ICC 2015 World Cup.

David Richardson, the ICC chief executive, commented, “The ICC Cricket World Cup is the flagship tournament of the 50-over game. The World Cup will be returning to Australia and New Zealand after 23 years and will be staged at the back of two outstanding 50-over ICC events – the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 and ICC Champions Trophy 2013. I’m absolutely confident that the success of the Cricket World Cup 2015 will further strengthen the status of 50-over cricket as a successful and viable format alongside Tests and Twenty20 internationals.”

Pool A           
Sri Lanka
New Zealand
Qualifier 2
Qualifier 3

Pool B
South Africa
West Indies
Qualifier 4

Author Daniel Foster.
For more information on the Cricket Hospitality Packages please click the link. Or for more information please call VIP Event Butler direct on 01543 250239.


VIP Event Butler LTD
Latchford House, Shenstone Business Park,
Lynn Lane, Shenstone Staffordshire,
WS14 0SB

t: 01543 250239