Providing VIP Corporate Hospitality Packages at all Sporting & Cultural Events

Email: Follow us:

Call our dedicated sales team now

01543 250239

The Ashes 2013 kicked off today

England are ready for the Ashes test after Captain Alastair Cook has told his team to keep the British spirit going after the fantastic atmosphere at Wimbledon and following the British and Irish Lions series win in Australia, which boosted the spirit of sport in Great Britain. It will be a fantastic couple of weeks for British sport if Captain Cook can lead his side to a first test victory against Australia over the next 5 days. In the build-up to the Ashes, a lot of pressure has been piled on England as they are the big favourite following recent poor performances from the Australia cricket team.

Last month was the last ever ICC Champions Trophy and it was a tournament that Australia would rather forget as they played shockingly throughout. They finished bottom of their Group not winning a single match losing to Sri Lanka, not finishing against New Zealand, and losing to their Ashes rivals, England, by 48 runs. This loss that Australia suffered to England was the last time the two countries met in a cricket match, and the fact that it was a dominating victory for the English would give them a boost for this Ashes series, which takes place today.

England look for the Ashes third successive win

The last time England won the Ashes three times in a row was back in 1981, before the current Captain, Alastair Cook, was born. He now looks towards sealing the Ashes victory to make history against an Australian squad which has been called the worst Australian team in history. Overall, since the Ashes was born in 1882, Australia currently have the lead having won an impressive 31 titles, yet England can change that this year as they are only one win behind.

England have won the Ashes 30 times and Captain Cook hopes his team can level up the score at 31 titles to each country instead of Australia having the bragging rights. There have been a total of 66 Ashes tournaments so far with Australia winning 31, England 30 and there have been 5 draws.

Originally, England won the first 8 Ashes tournaments before Australia got their name on the lists of winners, but in recent years Australia dominated winning every tournament from 1989 to 2002-03. However, England have won 3 of the past of 4 tournaments and could start dominating in the future years as the team is maturing whilst the Australia team is not getting much better.

Looking ahead to the first test, Captain Alastair Cook, who is captaining his team in an Ashes series for the first time, commented, “Australia have fantastic players and it will be one heck of a battle. Every Ashes series I have played in is always intense and that is what we have got to prepare ourselves for. Cricket isn’t played on paper and it never will be. It’s about who delivers out there come tomorrow and the next 24 days of cricket.”

Author Daniel Foster.
For more information on Cricket Hospitality Packages please click here. Or for more information please call VIP Event Butler direct on 01543 250239.


VIP Event Butler LTD
Latchford House, Shenstone Business Park,
Lynn Lane, Shenstone Staffordshire,
WS14 0SB

t: 01543 250239